Meisje_met_de_parel.jpg

Vermeer au Château

 

In September and October 2021, Château La Carrière will host exclusive week-long retreats entitled Vermeer au Château, which combine a course on the life and work of the fascinating seventeenth-century painter Johannes Vermeer with an exploration of the gastronomy, castles and gardens of the Dordogne. 

En septembre et octobre 2021, le Château La Carrière accueillera des retraites exclusives d'une semaine intitulées Vermeer au Château, qui combinent une série de conférences sur la vie et l'œuvre du fascinant peintre hollandais Johannes Vermeer avec une exploration de la gastronomie, des châteaux et des jardins du Dordogne.

 

La série de conférences, qui offrira un aperçu détaillé de la vie et de l'œuvre de Vermeer, sera donnée par le Dr Adriaan E. Waiboer, l'un des plus grands experts mondiaux de la peinture de genre néerlandaise. Adriaan a été l'initiateur et le conservateur principal de l'exposition phare Vermeer et les maîtres de la peinture de genre, qui a eu lieu au Musée du Louvre, Paris, à la National Gallery of Ireland, Dublin et à la National Gallery of Art, Washington, en 2017-2018. The Financial Times a décrit l'exposition comme "l'exposition des grands maîtres européens de l'année".

  Après les conférences sur Vermeer le matin, vous aurez l'occasion d'explorer la riche tradition culinaire du Périgord Noir. Le chef Ludovic Nicod animera un atelier de cuisine et Michel et Danu Duneau, propriétaires de Périgourmet, vous emmèneront en excursion culinaire dans des fermes de caviar et de truffe.

En outre, vous visiterez également certains des plus beaux châteaux et jardins de la Dordogne, notamment le château de Castelnaud et Eyrignac et ses Jardins.

 

Vous aurez également amplement l'occasion de vous détendre en vous faisant masser, de vous baigner dans la piscine, de vous promener dans les magnifiques jardins, de suivre les sentiers de randonnée dans les forêts environnantes, ou simplement de vous détendre dans le salon avec un apéritif ...

 

Toutes les conférences, ateliers et excursions sont en anglais.

Rendez-vous
4-11 septembre 2021
11-18 septembre 2021
25 septembre - 2 octobre 2021
2-8 octobre 2021

 

Pour plus d'informations, veuillez télécharger notre brochure (en anglais).

Crédits photographiques:

Johannes Vermeer, La Jeune fille à la perle , huile sur toile, 44,5 x 39 cm, Mauritshuis, La Haye.

Johannes Vermeer, La Ruelle, huile sur toile, 53,5 x 43,5 cm, Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam.

Johannes Vermeer, La laitière, huile sur toile, 45,5 x 41 cm, Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam.

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Trip Advisor
Adresse
Château La Carrière
La Carrière
24220 Saint-Cyprien
France
info@chateaulacarriere.com

© 2020 Château La Carrière

Retreats

 

In September 2022, Château La Carrière will host exclusive week-long retreats entitled Vermeer au Château. Taking place in luxurious and tranquil surroundings, the retreats comprise a course on the life and work of the fascinating seventeenth-century painter Johannes Vermeer. 

The course, which will provide a complete overview of Vermeer's life and work, will be delivered by Dr Adriaan E. Waiboer, one of the world’s leading experts on Dutch genre painting. Adriaan was the initiator and lead curator of the landmark exhibition Vermeer and the Masters of Genre Painting, which took place at the Musée du Louvre, Paris, National Gallery of Ireland, Dublin and National Gallery of Art, Washington, in 2017-18. The Financial Times described the show as ‘Europe’s Old Master exhibition of the year’. 

800px-Johannes_Vermeer_-_Gezicht_op_huiz
800px-Johannes_Vermeer_-_Het_melkmeisje_

 After the course on Vermeer in the morning, you will have an opportunity to explore the rich culinary tradition of the Périgord Noir. Chef Ludovic Nicod will run cooking workshop and Michel and Danu Duneau, owners of Perigourmet, will take you on culinary excursion to truffle and walnut farms. 

In addition, you will also visit some of the most stunning castles and gardens of the Dordogne, including Château de Castelnaud and Eyrignac et ses Jardins. 

 

You will also have ample opportunity to relax by having massages, go for a swim in the pool, take a stroll through the magnificent gardens, follow the hiking trails in the surrounding forests, or just relax in the lounge with an apéritif... 

All lectures, workshops and excursions are in English.

For more information, including prices, please download our brochure. 

Image credits:

Johannes Vermeer, Girl with a Pearl Earring, oil on canvas, 44.5 x 39 cm, Mauritshuis, The Hague. 

Johannes Vermeer, The Little Street, oil on canvas, 53.5 x 43.5 cm, Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam. 

Johannes Vermeer, The Milkmaid, oil on canvas, 45.5 x 41 cm, Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam.